About Bayfield Hall in Norfolk

About Bayfield Hall

A stunning 18th century country house set in 120 acres of parkland in the heart of North Norfolk, two miles from the coast.

The house is Georgian, converted in the 18th Century from an earlier Tudor building. The ruined church of St. Margaret in the garden dates back to the 11th century and `BAYFELDA’ is mentioned in the Doomsday Book. It seems likely that the 18th century fashion for creating landscaped parks around country houses may have caused the Jermy family (then owners of Bayfield) to move the remaining villagers and the road to another location, turning the parish church into a picturesque ruin.

Indeed the 1st Earl of Leicester visited Bayfield with William Kent on many occasions for inspiration while building and creating Holkham Hall and Park 10 miles away in the 1730’s.

The surrounding woods include some of the oldest oaks in the Country including one dating to Edward II’s reign @1360.

Bayfield Lake which runs the length of the park was created in the 19th century by diverting the river Glaven. The Park Wall, one of the prettiest and best kept Victorian walls in Norfolk was an early work scheme to employ local men. Intended originally to encompass the whole park, work finished in 1914 at the outbreak of war never to be resumed.

The Estate comprises of 1900 acres, of for Norfolk unusually hilly countryside, the result of glacial deposits, with many lovely, interesting and quirky locations both natural and manmade.

Bayfield Promo video